DIY: First Attempt

Let me begin by saying… I am not a DIY goddess.

The crafting gene that most girls are born with seemed to miss me completely. Don’t get my wrong, I can be creative. But, my idea of fun does not involve stamps, sewing, or paper. However, this is all subject to change. Considering the fact that I have now completed my very first DIY project!

Seriously, shock and awe all on my part that this has occurred. .

I actually hadn’t planned on writing about my lack of awesomeness in the DIY field until much later. However, my engagement photos have been moved up to Friday (as in tomorrow!) and I needed some props.

Simple, but Very CUTE Banner for Engagement Photos:

Items needed:  Ribbon, standard sheets (8.5 x 11) of heavy card stock/scrapbook paper, wooden letters, basic paint, paint brush, hot glue gun, hole punch and scissors.
Total Time: 60 minutes

1. Go to your local crafting store. If you have a Hobby Lobby near you, I am super jealous. The closest one to me is about 45 minutes south, so I went to my second choice, Michaels. Once there, collect the items necessary to complete project.

2. Paint letters. I chose a matte silver as the base and then painted over them with a sparkly silver because glitter is one of my favorite colors. Allow letters to dry between paint. It took about 10 minutes. I did two coats of matte silver and then one of the sparkly silver.

3. While waiting for paint to dry, create the background for the letters. I layered peacock blue on white and had about a half of inch of space between the border and the letter. I used a ruler for accuracy and created a stencil so I could save time and get the same effect.

4. Hole punch the upper corners of the squares to allow the ribbon to feed through.

5. Use the hot glue gun to position and attach the letters to the center of the squares.

6. Measure amount of ribbon needed by lining up the letters/phrase. Remember to take into account how much space you want between them as well as how much ribbon you want to hold onto or need for tying. Then proceed to feed the ribbon through.

7. Proceed to take photo documenting how excited you are to have completed such a crafty project and thus congratulate yourself on being a future DIY goddess.

personal photo

And there you have it!

Seriously, if I can do it! Anyone can do it.

I cannot wait to share the engagement photos featuring this lovely prop with you all. Please excuse the poor camera quality, the cellphone is not always the best!

Leave a Reply

