Wedding Fitness

So, let me begin by saying that I am in NO WAY A MEDICAL PROFESSIONAL. The exercises posted below are ones that I do and have found results with. I’ve been working out consistently for over two years now and constantly change my routine. Before beginning any new exercise regimen I strongly urge you to consult a physician.

Anyway, now that that has been cleared up!

Did anyone else feel like as soon as the ring got on the finger they had an added stress of looking absolutely amazing on their wedding day? Either by losing those “damn 5 lbs” or toning everything up? I feel like, for me, I definitely I have both. I just feel like being on display that day someone will look at me and be like “really? she wore a strapless dress… look at that arm fat” I know no one will actually be like that, but it still lingers in the back of my mind.

So, here are just a few workouts that I do to help me feel better about my own wedding fitness. These exercises also help knock out all the stress of wedding planning and leave me clearheaded and ready to face the next wedding challenge! Also, endorphins. Yay!

Prettymuch, I can do cardio all day everyday and be happy as a clam. Sweating at the gym is number one priority for me to feel like I’ve worked it. I rarely go to the gym and only do strength training. BTW, I do not like strength training. I literally have to force myself to do this multiple times a week.

So to get myself to strength train, I got to a class my gym offers called “Body Pump”. It is a Les Mills class and it is seriously amazing. One hour, works every major muscle group, lots of repetitions, and great music. Each song is a different muscle group. Warm-up, squat track, chest, back, triceps, biceps, legs (again!), shoulders, abs, and cool down. Its awesome. Earlier this year I started making it a point to go and I am happy I did. For once in my life, I have actual muscle definition. It may not be much, but its coming along and I already feel better about the way my arms look. A win for me! If your gym offers this class or any variation, I highly recommend checking it out. It’s going to hurt at first, especially, if you’re not used to weight lifting, but I urge you to stick with it. Also, aren’t great looking arms one thing every bride wants on her wedding day? yeahhh. do it!

Running. My new years resolution was to be able to successfully run a mile. As an asthmatic, ugh, this was seriously going to be difficult. I couldn’t even run a quarter of a mile in January without getting winded and crampy. Before the treadmill, I just used the elliptical machine and did other group exercise classes at the gym. But there is something about running that makes me feel like I am working every bit of my body. It was a slow and steady progress, but as of today I can officially run two miles without stopping in just under 22 minutes. Before it was closer to 25 minutes. If you’re not a runner, and I still don’t consider myself to be one at all, start slow. I used to just do sprints and walk and repeat. And I’d test myself to see how far I could run without stopping. Each time just seeing if I could get a little bit further. It is all about making it work for you! Seriously. Even after I do my two mile run, I let myself cool down for a quarter of a mile and then run an additional half a mile at a faster pace to work on increasing my speed. My best friend while running is MUSIC and that I don’t care if people look at me crazy while I lip-sync and do jazz hands the whole time really getting into it. I pretty much have to do anything to take my mind off what I am doing at that moment.

Push-ups. We are not friends. But the benefits of doing them are fantastic. They work such a large muscle group and its all you’re own strength. If you’re a beginner, start on all fours. Like a crawling position. Once that becomes too easy, move your knees down and do them “girl style” (how they were referred to in every PE class I was in during school). And then eventually get up and do them full on. You’ve got this and you definitely have to be your own cheerleader here. I tell myself that anyone can do something five times. And I increase the number as I go.

Planks. Probably the best core exercise you can do, in my opinion. Same position as full on push up just put your elbows down and get that butt down. Hold for as long as you can and be prepared for your abs to scream at you. You can also do side planks to work the obliques.

Group Exercise. I encourage you try out any group exercise class your gym offers. Its a great way to socialize, get the gym buddy, and to get a really great workout in about an hour. You don’t need to be coordinated, just motivated. Don’t worry about not knowing how to the do the moves, it typically takes a few classes to get used to the steps and everyone else in that room has been in the same position as you. You’ll sweat, get fit, and get the most bang for your gym time. How can that not be great? Also, if you’ve got any issues like with your knee/shoulders/etc, just let your instructor know and they’ll let you know how to modify certain moves in ways that you may not have considered before.

I hope that these help you as they’ve helped me. And I am always looking for something new and interesting to try to shake up my workout routine so please share!

 

One thought on “Wedding Fitness

  1. Pingback: Sweat!? Nope! I glisten! | Passion & Laughter

Leave a Reply

