DIY: Lace Mason Jars

Oh yes. I went there.

Remember when I said I am not a DIY goddess? Seriously, I’m not, but these days I feel like its slowly changing. I’m slowly learning my way around the craft stores, determining what works and what doesn’t. I seem to have a major issue… I LOVE E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G! Chris has said that I am no longer allowed to craft shop by myself because I just come home with all these ideas and ahh.

However, this DIY project was inspired by a couple of pictures I saw on Pinterest.

Seriously, aren’t these just gorgeous and so sweet? Yup!

So, I decided to take both and tweak it to my liking and DIY skill level.

Easy Peasy Lace Mason Jar Tutorial:

What you will need: scissors, double sided tape, pint sized mason jars, and lace.

I used Wrights trim – 4″ Flat Pretty Lace in White from Joann Fabrics.

PS – I know its black… but they didn’t have any in white available online.

Anyway, I bought three yards which was enough to cover 10 pint sized mason jars.

How To Get It Done:

  1. Attach piece of double sided tape vertically to the end of the lace. This will make it easier to apply to the jar. Apply to jar on one of the smooth corners. Not all mason jars are created equal. Kerrs has a lot of smooth space, Ball do not.
  2. Wrap lace around jar to determine how much is needed and then cut the lace.
  3. Apply another piece of double sided tape and stick to jar.
  4. Voila. A masterpiece.

Seriously. It’s that easy. Total time for this was 20 minutes. Once I had one of the pieces of lace measured out correctly, I just used it to cut the other pieces. Total time saver.

20111205-163855.jpg

Gorgeous and simple. Just plop a candle in there, light it, and prepare to have your guests be amazed.

You better believe you will be seeing these babies in my centerpieces.

 

8 thoughts on “DIY: Lace Mason Jars

  1. I LOVE these! I was thinking of (if I manage to pull off my first attempt with regular lace) at Christmas time, this would be gorgeous with snowflake lace or some other kind of holiday lace.

  2. Just a safety note: Mason jars are only rated for boiling water, not fire, so you can only burn a candle down to about one inch from the bottom, or the glass can shatter! Careful out there 🙂

    • Good to know! I’ve only ever used tea lights/candles in them for shorter periods of time for fear of starting a fire but I bet the battery operated candles would look pretty in them too 🙂

      • Oooh both good ideas, flameless battery operated candles, or putting sand in the bottom, both ideas would work. ❤

  3. Pingback: DIY: Ribbon Wall | Passion & Laughter

Leave a Reply

