Gimme a Beat: Running Playlist

I cannot exercise without music. Let me repeat that. I really cannot exercise without music.

It is the lifeblood to my workout.

One time, my iPod died while I was running on the treadmill. Watching me try to run after this tragic incident was like watching a car run out of gas. Here I was chugging along, grooving to the tunes, and BOOM it ran out of juice. I tried to putter along for a few moments but it was just not happening. I could not move.

Fortunately, I learned my lesson.

Music motivates how fast or slow I move, how I am able to push myself, and really just provides me with distraction from thinking that whatever I’m doing is the hardest thing ever. I need it. It is my tempo. Whenever I workout with friends, I always have one ear bud in. It is just understood that I am in no way ready to listen to the sound of my own hard breathing.

I take a great deal of pride in my music collection. Twenty gigs of lovely songs that range over a multitude of genres and artists. If its got a beat or a melody, I’m probably in love.

Since this week has kicked off marathon training, I wanted to share the tunes that have been motivating me thus far.

Gimme a Beat: Week One Playlist
1. Cut Your Hair by Pavement
2. Ghosts N Stuff – deadmau5
3. Sunrise – Childish Gambino
4. Fighter – Christina Aguilera
5. Jump (For my Love) – Pointer Sisters
6. Shake Señora (feat. T-Pain) – Pitbull
7. Corona and Lime – Shwayze
8. Hair – Lady Gaga
9. I Believe in a Thing Called Love – The Darkness
10. I’m the Ish (Remix) (feat. Lil Jon) – DJ Class
11. Feed The Animals (entire album) – Girl Talk

Usually, I am a little more eclectic and like to mix in country and more oldies or rock. But I’ve found that rap and dub step provide me with a beat I can match with a pace. And right now, that’s really important to me.

Do you like to workout with music or without? Why? If the former, who is your favorite artist right now? Any particular songs you can recommend to an avid listener? If the later, how did you break the dependency to music? I am literally all ears.

3 thoughts on “Gimme a Beat: Running Playlist

  1. Totally with you on music being a must while running! I love getting new music and creating fun playlists, I’ll have to check out your songs =) I listen to a lot of pop/rap when i workout and i have it posted on my blog so check it out if you get a chance!

  2. Pingback: Long Run Mistakes | Passion & Laughter

Leave a Reply

