Fartleks is a Funny Word

As part of training, I’ve been instructed to do speed work or what is also known as Fartleks. I pronounce it FART-leks and I usually can’t say it without cracking a smile. Immaturity at its finest, ladies and gentlemen. No shame here.

*If you’re like me and are pretty much a newbie to running, you should probably be doing some sort of speed work or interval sprinting. It makes sense when you think about it, you want to get faster and increase your stamina so you perform better and win races. Sounds pretty simple.

**From what I’ve researched online (Google seriously knows the answer to everything) and based on the advice of others (thank you friends!), the way to do a Fartlek workout is as follows:

Warm-up/Easy jog : 10-15minutes
Hard: 2minutes
Easy: 2:30minutes
Hard: 3minutes
Easy: 2:30minutes
Hard: 4minutes
Easy: 2:30minutes
Hard: 4minutes
Easy: 2:30minutes
Hard: 3minutes
Easy: 2:30minutes
Hard: 2minutes
Easy: 2:30minutes
Cool Down: 10-15minutes

I think you’re supposed to be jogging in between each sprint, but I know I need to work on graduating to that. I jogged my usual pace for the warm-up, about a 12 minute mile. And then I kicked it up to 6mph for each sprint. For the easy parts, I brought it down to a walking pace of a 4.0mph because I honestly needed to catch my breath. Also, I adjusted the warm up and cool down times so it would fit into the time limit I had which was about 40 minutes.

I did expect to have my butt handed to me during this workout. That is exactly what I got. This is a workout I will be making time to do at least once a week. Not really sure if I could do it more than that because my legs feel like bricks today.

I felt really terrible for everyone who was sandwiched in close to me on the metro because I don’t think I’ve ever sweated that much in my entire life.

Sweat so much my mascara ran down my face.

 Do you do speed work? Has it helped you improve your time? Are you a fan of Fartleks or do you prefer to do something else like HIIT? Any suggestions for helping me get to a point where I can jog during the easy parts instead of brisk walk? Let’s discuss!

*I am NOT A DOCTOR or any sort of medical professional. Also, I have zero certifications in anything physical fitness related. I am seriously just  going off of advice given to me. Advice that was not provided by a doctor or a trainer.

**Google will lead to you tons of sources like this and this and this. Your friends, if they are nice, will just be like “GIRL! GO for IT!”

2 thoughts on “Fartleks is a Funny Word

Leave a Reply

