Modest Mouse – 9:30 Club – June 20, 2012

Last night I had the privilege of seeing Modest Mouse perform with one of my best friends.

Jennifer getting amped up for the show!

Honestly, I had some reservations about seeing them live. When I go to a show, its usually to dance  and to really just groove into the music. I wasn’t sure if Modest Mouse would provide me with that same energy.

I should really stop worrying about things because I was so wrong. So wrong.

Their opening band, Talkdemonic, fed into my worry. A viola player, a synthesizer and drums. No lyrics. Nothing. I love instrumental music, but I just was not feeling it. Little interaction with the audience and just an overall blah. The music was pretty and I would listen to it in the comfort of my own home, but it wasn’t really revving me up for the main act which is what an opener should do.

Modest Mouse walked onto stage and went right into ‘Dramamine’. The entire room erupted and my worry about the energy of the show faded away. I began dancing and singing along. Really getting into the music and truly enjoying myself.

Midway through they busted into “Float On,” without a doubt their most popular and radio friendly hit. I’ve heard rumors that they haven’t actually played this song live in years due to the popularity and being sick of it. Definitely a crowd pleaser of a song.

Modest Mouse Modest Mouse Modest Mouse

Setlist:
Dramamine
Paper Thin Walls
Bury Me With It
Fire It Up
Heart of Mine
Broke
Float On
Tiny Cities Made of Ashes
Wild Packs of Family Dogs
Custom Concern
Education
Cowboy Dan
Cover of Bob Dylan – You Aint Goin Nowhere
Bukowski
Dance Hall
Gravity Rides Everything

Encore:
Ansel
Satin in a Coffin
Dashboard
Fly in a Jar

The faces of two very happy concert goers!

My only complaint about their performance is that they didn’t play “Ocean Breathes Salty.” I just really love the song. Hopefully, since I am seeing them tonight as well, they will change up the setlist and I’ll be able to hear it.

One thought on “Modest Mouse – 9:30 Club – June 20, 2012

  1. Pingback: Twenty-Fourth Year | Passion & Laughter

Leave a Reply

