Trading Up: Eating Habits

Coming into week three of training, I’ve begun to realize that I really need to consider what I eat.

Everyone talks about fueling their body and eating the right things in order to obtain their goals whether they are weight based or training based. I officially am aiming for both. From the realization last week that I have gained unwanted weight it is silly for me to continue to eat the way I have been and think that I can progress in my training.

I have a sweet tooth in the worst way. Chocolate, candy, ice cream!? Get in my mouth. Please. At work, I have these delicious temptations just begging me to take a bite.

I wish I could say there were only those that you see, but honestly there are two more. Five bowls of endless possibilities. But, again, I’ve realized I can’t treat myself to one piece (it was never just one!) or seven pieces per day just because I am so awesome. So, I’ve stopped. If I want a piece of candy, I have a mini size piece of dark chocolate. Usually after lunch to squash the craving and I enjoy it while I eat it.

If I want something sweet, I am eating fruit. Unfortunately for me, I am particularly picky about the fruits I eat. Typically, I only eat watermelon, cantaloupe, green grapes (never red), honey crisp apples, and oranges. Never will I ever eat a banana (too mushy and overpowering) or a blueberry (ick!) or red delicious apple (seriously? I’ve never seen anyone eat one). I didn’t even like strawberry until I went on my honeymoon. Even now when I eat them it is like a baby sampling food for the first time. Unsure of the texture, the seeds, and really trying to decide if I actually like it.

Vegetables, on the other hand, I have zero reservation about. If its green, I’ll eat it. No questions asked.

Now I am trading in  my love for candy and going for something more healthy.

The result? I feel better at the end of the day. I feel better around 3pm when I usually crash. When I exercise in the evenings, I don’t feel as sluggish/drained. No complaints about that.

This new-ish frame of mind is helping me in the kitchen as well. I am learning to cook foods that are healthy, packed with vitamins and nutrients and just better in the long run (pun totally intended).

It’s not like I am evening making too crazy of changes, swap out unnecessary amounts of candy and other junk for daily recommended amounts of fruit and veggies. There is no deprivation here either, instead of ice cream in the evenings, I have a scoop of frozen yogurt.

Here’s to hoping small changes yield great results.

When you started training, did you come to this same conclusion? What did you do to change? How are you changing your diet to accommodate your training? Any tips or suggestions? Any mindtricks to get me to like more fruits? Let’s discuss!

8 thoughts on “Trading Up: Eating Habits

  1. Have you ever tried frozen banana “ice cream”? All you do is freeze a banana, then blend it up with a bit of peanut butter and cocoa. It’s really creamy and delicious, and it isn’t too banana-y. 🙂

  2. I used to hate bananas too, but I started eating green bananas and found that the flavor isn’t too crazy, and they are less mushy (because they are less ripe, obviously). As soon as the green is all gone, they are too ripe for me.

Leave a Reply

