Long Run Mistakes

On Saturday I completed my longest run to date.

To be honest, I don’t feel as if I had prepared myself properly to complete this task. Factors that  have led me to this conclusion:

  • Sleeping for twelve hours the night before
  • Eating a bowl of plain cereal for breakfast and nothing else.
  • Not drinking enough water
  • Lack of stretching

These seem like pretty rookie mistakes. I worry that if I eat too much I am going to make myself feel sick or too full when I do my long runs. I worry that if I eat too little I am going to starve and crash early when I know if I just had a snack I could go further. When I drink water, I fear that I will over drink thus causing me to weigh myself down. While I don’t always sleep for that long, I do require a lot of sleep. Twelve hours might’ve been a little bit too much. I don’t know if I gave my body enough time to wake up before starting which could’ve burned my energy early on. However, I feel like I am still very much in the learning process about what works well for me.

At 3.5miles I began to crash. My stomach started growling bad. I had to use the bathroom. Sweat was pouring off of me. And I began to talk myself out of pushing forward. I took a couple of minutes to walk trying to see if this would shake me out of the sudden funk I had landed in. No such luck.

Miraculously, my iPod sensed what I was feeling and selected a song so perfect for motivation.

The lyrics coupled with the beat came blasting into my ears literally begging the question “Where’s YOUR head at?” Before I knew it, I am talking myself back into the game. Quite possibly out loud and louder than I’d like to admit considering the volume was turned all the way up on the headphones.

Where was my head at? For a little under a quarter of a mile it was totally done with running for the day. But, I kicked the speed up and just powered through the last mile and a half despite all of my personal factors working against me.

I’ve written before about how music is the lifeblood to my workout. Saturday proved my point to myself for the umpteenth time. I ended up walking out of the gym patting myself on the back for sticking it out despite my uneducated lack of preparation. Will music be there to push me through the next time this happens? I’m not sure, but I do know I am going to at least go in a bit more prepared.

What have you done to better prepare yourself for a long run? Have you had a similar situation with your iPod knowing exactly what you need to hear? Any tips for how to get out of your head and keep yourself motivated during 5+ mile runs? Let’s discuss!

4 thoughts on “Long Run Mistakes

    • you do need to get out there and just do it! have you considered going to the middle school and using the track? it’ll be easy on your joints and maybe help boost your confidence because its flat and your neighborhood is sooo hilly.

      i couldn’t even run two full miles in April and today I ran six without stopping. if i can do it, you can!! 🙂

      and i’ll definitely check out the book!!

      • Yes, that is my plan – to start at the middle school and work up from there. I have been trying to convince Morgan and Eric to do it with me, but I am not sure if they are convinced.

Leave a Reply

