Race: Let Freedom Run 5K

Yesterday I ran my FIRST race!

Honestly, I never imagined myself being able to accomplish this goal. I’ve discussed how I am not a runner before, but from doing this one race I am starting to think that maybe I could be.

If I try.

And trying is what I am doing. From Fartleks to long runs and changing my eating habits, I really think that I am on my way to making this a thing for me. Like a hobby. And I kind of think I am beginning to enjoy training because I look forward to it most days. Weird, I know.

To prepare for Wednesday morning, I spent Tuesday evening relaxing. I did absolutely nothing and it was wonderful. The only thing I did was switch up my training schedule for the week to accommodate the race. I didn’t feel any pre-race jitters or have any issues sleeping. I actually had trouble getting myself out of bed in the morning because I can sleep forever. So once I finally woke up, I ate some cheerios and walked over to the race area.

Kristen ran the race with me. There was cloud cover and a slight breeze until fifteen minutes before the start at 9am. The sun came out, the clouds cleared, and the temperature rose significantly. We were sweating at the starting line. My goal for this race was to be under 39 minutes. I figured, first time up plus the heat that this was a do-able. Luckily, I knew the course pretty well and anticipated each of the hills. In order to not tire out, we opted to power walk the uphills. I think this was the best decision we made the entire race. We sprinted like our lives depended on it toward the finish line and clocked in at 38:35. WE DID IT! I had reached my time-based goal for my first race!!

Some photos:

Capitol Running Company put on a great event. This is a relatively new race (I think this was its second) and it had over a thousand participants. Each runner was given a free popsicle upon completion as well as a patriotic shirt. The course was clearly marked and the volunteers were encouraging as we slowly ran by them.

Running across that finish line with the crowd cheering in addition to the support of Kristen, my in-laws, and Chris was so exhilarating. I left the race with what I can only assume is a runner’s high. And I totally can’t wait to do my next one!

Seriously important to note: With the atmosphere of the race, I didn’t even put my headphones in. I ran without music. Ridiculous. I don’t even know who I am right now.

Check out this sweet shirt — pretty happy its my first!

Have you ever done a 5k? If so, how was your first race? What has been your favorite race you’ve ever participated in? Any tips for running the heat? Let’s discuss!

7 thoughts on “Race: Let Freedom Run 5K

  1. We did Warrior Dash last year in Nashville and it was such a rush. The obstacles were all mainly heights which terrified me but made me so proud when I was done. Plus you are greeted at the end with a free beer and a concert. A tip that I learned is that when you get a cramp on your side is to stomp a little harder with the opposite leg with each step until the cramp fades. Also, focus on breathing. In through your nose out through your mouth. It really helps! Congrats on your first run!

  2. Pingback: Twenty-Fourth Year | Passion & Laughter

Leave a Reply

