Performance [In]Consistency

Throughout training, I feel like I flip-flop weeks of awesome with weeks of terrible. Does anyone else suffer with this same issue?

Last week I definitely had issues with my speed work on Tuesday and then problems on my long run during the weekend. Everything just felt so out of sync. My muscles were like ‘umm what is this motion?’ Seriously, it was bad and the times were so embarrassing I don’t even want to share. Chris had to come pick me up because there was no way I was going to make it back to my house. I was limping, the bottom of my foot felt like it was on fire, my stomach was howling with hunger and my bladder felt like it was going to fall out anytime I increased my speed. It was a rough nine miles.

I did force myself to complete them though my head was so out of it. If its any consolation.

The week before, eight miles was a breeze. I was in the groove. Nothing was going to stop me. However, the week before that it was torture to get done what I needed to, similar to this past week. And I feel like this is definitely some sort of pattern.

I’m wracking my brain trying to figure out what I do differently each week. But really I am so boring and so on a routine that it’s the same thing. Maybe I’m not drinking enough water? But how much are you supposed to drink in addition to the daily recommended amount when you are training? Am I wearing the wrong clothes? Is it my shoes? Are my muscles just feeling overworked the weeks I do awesome so they instinctively take it easy because my brain is like ‘c’mon guys! do enough to keep her confident!’

I’m thinking it may be a combo of all three. And that’s cool, not.

For one thing, I definitely don’t want my feet to feel the way they did on Sunday ever again. So give my your best sock recommendations for long runs to prevent blisters! Also I’m going to be fitted for proper shoes in the next week or two. So hopefully this will help with some of the problem.

As for the rest of it, I’ll do trial and error.

What I know right now is that at least my bad runs are followed by an awesome run. The goal is to learn how to make them all awesome (majority!).

Do you feel like you suffer from this same issue? How do you deal? Any recommendations for how to make a bad run better? Let’s discuss!

9 thoughts on “Performance [In]Consistency

    • I am definitely not lacking in the motivation department. I think I just haven’t figured out what works for me yet. Luckily, I’ve still got loads of time to get it worked out and then make it groovy. Blahh.

      Let me know if you find any sweet socks!

  1. I wear the Vibram ‘finger shoes’ and Nike FreeRuns and love them. I have flat feet and the finger shoes are seriously the most comfortable shoes I have ever worn. The finger shoes make running feel completely different, as it changes the way you land on your feet to a more ‘natural’ motion…i swear by them. As far as energy and the ups and downs, I have found that for me that all comes down to what I eat. I try to eat the same breakfast, lunch, and snacks every day at the same times every day. This sounds boring, but it helps so much; plus, its not so bad when you like the food. By doing that, I know that my body has the same energy source every day and energy is a far less problem. I also make sure to eat something about every three hours to keep my metabolism up. I mix up dinner and evening snacks to insert some variety. Also, I suggest (if you’re not already) take a multivitamin at night…this too makes sure your body is getting everything it needs to fuel you. I suggest at night because sometimes mine makes me feel nauseous. I should also add that I enjoy reading your blog and it helps motivate me 🙂

    • Ahh, I can’t imagine what it would be like with flat feet. I have high arches in my feet but my feet are wide. Ha. The pain I was experiencing wasn’t a blister like pain (though I have gotten a few), it was like the ball of my foot in between my big toe and my second toe was on fire. Stinging with pain but nothing visible on the bottom of my foot. Totally weird. It happens when I wear heels sometimes but I wonder if its because I dont have enough padding in that part of my shoe. I run in Nike’s right now, but I am def want to get professionally fitted just so I can see what kinds of shoes I should be looking for based on my foot type and the pains.

      Eating the same food at the same time everyday does sound really boring. I usually eat at the same times of day, but definitely not the same thing except for breakfast. I know I can make my snacks more routine, which I plan to do thanks to your advice :). I just dont know about lunch! I am also going to try your vitamin idea too 🙂 Can’t hurt to get more nutrients in!

      Aweee YAY! keep reading! It makes me happy 🙂

  2. I admit that my ‘same food’ diet is weird and probably not very popular, but I do think it is important to eat every three to four hours. It makes a world of difference for me anyway. Good luck!

    • Actually, I’ve read a lot of blogs that advocate for similar eating styles especially while training. So don’t think its weird! It may not be the exact thing every day but it is definitely in the same family. Switch it up a bit to keep it interesting.

      Eating every 3-4 hours is def important and def not something I always do, but I am going to try 🙂

      If it works for you, who cares what anyone else thinks!

  3. Pingback: High Fives All Around | Passion & Laughter

Leave a Reply

