Double Digit Fears

Tomorrow I am planning to break the double digits in my training runs. And I am a little more than kind of scared. And nervous. Scared and nervous. Not sure if this is the best way to prepare for this major obstacle in my running career, but maybe it’ll get the adrenaline pumping.

Ten miles. Ten miles might actually be mine tomorrow.

But what if I fail? Well, I try again next week I suppose.

I did my speed work training on Tuesday night with little to no issue. Besides the heat on Thursday my four mile run was pretty smooth. Does this mean that tomorrow will be a terrible run? I really really hope not. After the debacle that was last week, I am really hoping that this will go much better.

Shockingly, I am planning to wake up early. Like, before I normally do for work. In order to go running. This is how serious I am about this. Tomorrow’s temperatures are supposed to be in the upper 90s with ridiculous humidity. I feel like if I have any chance in doing this well, then I need to get up before the sun and finish before 9am. Ugh. Also, I am not going to eat oatmeal tomorrow before the run. I’ve been eating cheerios before long runs because it agrees with me, last week I switched it up with oatmeal and I don’t know if it had anything to do with the fail of last week.

Hopefully these changes result in a big win push of confidence for training. I definitely didn’t think that eight weeks ago I would be as committed today as I was on day one. And I don’t plan to quit until I have that marathon medal in my hand.

Did you feel like a superhero after your first double digit run? What did you do to prepare? Any words of encouragement you can offer up to this scared running girl? Let’s discuss!!

PS – I redid my about page. If you want to get to know me a little better, check it out.

4 thoughts on “Double Digit Fears

  1. I ran 10 miles for the first time this week. The hardest part was pacing myself and fighting through the pain. I had run 8 miles the week before, so I knew I could do that much. I wore a heart rate monitor which really helped with the pacing. Once I got to 8.1 miles I kept telling myself that I’ve never been closer to 10 miles than I am now, so why stop and waste all that effort. I knew that each step was a new record and I wasn’t going to let anything stop me from reaching my goal, and I sure as hell didn’t want to have to start over another day. I actually sprinted through mile 9 because I was so damn excited; the adrenaline was flowing and I knew I was going to get to 10 haha. When I got to 10 miles I felt like a rockstar. I was almost cried…likely a combination of both pride and pain. It’s going to be hard, but worth it. Don’t quit on yourself and you’ll feel pretty frickin alive when you’re done…it’s worth it and you can do it 🙂

    • If I could love this comment, I would. Seriously, the best advice ever and so true. Thank you SO much for this comment. Really! These words have provided with me confidence and motivation. I wear a HRM to help with the pacing too!!

  2. Pingback: High Fives All Around | Passion & Laughter

Leave a Reply

