High Fives All Around

Friday night after writing about my fears, I went to sleep. Shockingly, I managed to do this with little issue. The nerves were ridiculous, y’all.

Saturday morning, I woke up at 5:45am. Seriously. I ate some cheerios and hung out for a little bit. Decided that watching a little bit of TV was a good idea so naturally I turned on my favorite channel, Investigation Discovery. The show on at 6am was Cold Blood. The plot… was about a woman that gets raped and murdered on a run. No joke. I can’t make this stuff up. So there I am chomping on my cheerios in my gear scared out of my wits that this could be me. Like the universe telling me to not go outside. I waited around for a little bit for the sun to really come out and then I was off.

And off I went. Just running. And running. And running.

For TEN MILES. Actually, 10.18 miles. I successfully ran 10.18 miles. And I am just as shocked as you are.

I achieved so many personal records during this run. I PR’d in distance (obviously), pace, and just overall time. When I ran eight miles, I had to stop and walk after six miles because of a leg pain and I ended up finishing in an hour and forty minutes. Last week when I did nine miles, it was a painful overall time of two hours and twenty-three minutes. For 10.18 miles, I completed it in an hour and fifty-eight minutes. REALLY!! Before Saturday, I had a tough time finishing five miles in under an hour and here I am doing ten miles in under two hours. And I ran my fastest [recorded] mile EVER.

Honestly, when I stopped, I cried. I was so overcome with emotion and accomplishment that I couldn’t control the few tears that sneaked out. If you had told me in April that by the first week in August I would be able to run 10 consecutive miles without stopping, I would’ve laughed in your face. In April, running this distance was not even on my radar, I just wanted to get back up to being able to run two miles without stopping to walk.

If you’re wondering why mile six was a little faster than the rest? I ran to the closest place I knew that was open and had a bathroom for a much needed bathroom break. Definitely running for a greater purpose at that moment.

Right now, I am continuing to enjoy the mass of endorphins from the ten miler. I am also a little [only a teensy bit] concerned about how the runs this week will go considering I seem to suffer from performance inconsistency.

The biggest question I need to ask myself right now is does this double digit training run make me a runner? Woahhhhh.

5 thoughts on “High Fives All Around

  1. Pingback: DIY: Ribbon Wall | Passion & Laughter

Leave a Reply

