Two Week Countdown

In two weeks I will be competing in my first half marathon. Wow did these last two months fly by. I feel like just yesterday I was writing this entry, all nervous to put myself out there and afraid of what everyone else would think. It’s really crazy to think of how far I’ve come in running from reading over my entries. There have been loads of mistakes, missteps, and quite a few personal victories.

And dare I say that I actually sometimes enjoy running now. Goodness.

And I now sort of kind of consider myself a runner. Eep.

So weird.

Kristen peer-pressured me to sign up for a local race I had been eyeing for a little while now. So, last night, I took the plunge and just signed up for it. This Sunday I will be competing in the Leesburg 20K. Or how I marketed it to myself, a little over a half mile shorter than a half marathon! From what I’ve read, the course is hilly and while that intimidates me a little it ultimately wasn’t enough to deter me. Also, I figure I am going to be out running twelve miles this weekend, so I might as well get a shirt from it. Clearly, my reasons for doing this have not changed.

Honestly, even the half marathon is a training run for me as well. The goal at the end of this is to run the Richmond Marathon, which I officially signed up for recently as well. The goal is to be a marathoner. To reserve the right to say, “Yeah, I did it. Jealous?” And to get a medal and put stickers on my car.

I can’t wait!

3 thoughts on “Two Week Countdown

  1. Wow as someone just starting out on my own half marathon journey, this is very inspiring!! Especially since I also started out as a ‘non-runner’. Glad I came across your blog!

    • Awe thank you so much!! It has definitely been a process and some days are a lot harder than others but it’s getting better! Trust me, if I can do it, you can do it!

      PS I totally love your blog name and can’t wait to read all about your progress!

Leave a Reply

