Saturday.

Some days you should really just say home and play with your kitten. Unfortunately, being the dedicated marathon trainee that I am decided to go out for my long run. Saturday was supposed to be a ten-twelve mile run depending on how I felt.

I started off feeling amazing. I ran two 10:30 minute miles and then apparently my legs decided that they were just going to go faster. And I was so caught up in the music that I wasn’t really paying attention. Miles three through six were 9 minute miles. I wasn’t hurting, my body wasn’t aching. I felt good, I had fabulous weather.

And then it happened.

I was on a downhill. All of sudden the outside of my left knee was in excruciating pain. I slowed to walk which turned into a limp. After a few minutes of walking, the pain subsided so I thought I could run again. I ran just short of a quarter of a mile before deciding that running today was no longer an option. But since walking still felt fine, I figured I’d just to walk back to my apartment. I turned my app off at 9.03 miles. I had been walking for two and a half at this point. I still had another half a mile to go.

I live on the four floor of an apartment building with no elevators. I couldn’t even bend my knee to walk up the stairs without crying out in pain.

Chris saw my face when I hobbled through the door and knew something was seriously wrong.

My knee was slightly swollen. It looked like there was a bruise under the kneecap close to where I said it hurt.

After icing it and hanging out for a little while we headed out the Redskins pre-season game.

The walk to the car was slow and painful. Bending my knee no longer was an option.

Luckily at the stadium I managed to score Chris and I a ride on a golf cart with one of the stadium attendants. From there it was an elevator ride and a short walk to the suite so we could rejoice in witnessing RGIII’s first play ever at Fedex Field.

Thankfully the Redskins won.With that win I declared this is the season we head to the Super Bowl.

The walk back to the car was slow and painful. Walking up the stairs back into the apartment was painful.

This morning when I woke up? No pain. Granted, I haven’t tried to walk down the stairs or anything, but its an improvement.

My biggest concern is that this pain will prohibit me from participating in the half marathon next weekend. This is a tapering week so my runs will be short and sweet. Two four mile runs is all I’ve got planned.

If I have to, I will walk the half marathon.

At what point should I visit the doctor? Have you ever had random knee pain occur on a run? What did you do for treatment? How did this pain affect future runs? Any trips or tricks to help avoid knee pain? Do those compression knee sleeves actually work? Any help is greatly appreciated. Let’s discuss!

6 thoughts on “Saturday.

  1. As someone who has knee problems from NOT going to the doctors, you can never be too safe. I would check out Commonwealth Orthopaedics. Dr Parker is Reston is amazing!!! Knee braces work depending on the issue. Hang in there!

  2. Follow basic RICE for at least 24 hours (rest, ice, compress, elevate). If it’s not better by tomorrow morning I would definitely go see a doctor. Such bad timing! I’d be so frustrated

    • That’s what I’ve been doing. Thank goodness the pain seems to be subsiding. The plan is to take it really easy this week in order to get through the half on Sunday.

      Things were going too easy, ha. My body decided it was time to throw in a monkey wrench. Grr.

  3. Pingback: The Diagnosis | Passion & Laughter

  4. Pingback: Race Recap: Virginia Beach Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon | Passion & Laughter

Leave a Reply

